Click here to goto the homepage. Click here to view our training classes. Click here for our new letters. Click here for Municipal EMAs. Click here for our popular links. Click here to contact us. Click here to find out about EMA. Click here for our volunteer opportunities. Click here to view our out reach programs.

Local Emergency Planning Committee (L.E.P.C.)

The Columbia County Local Emergency Planning Committee is established in accordance with the requirements of Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA, Title III).

The L.E.P.C. shall have a minimum of 9 members, consisting of the Columbia County Emergency Management Coordinator, one County Commissioner and at least one representative from each of the following groups:

  • Local Elected Officials
  • Law Enforcement and/or Medical Response
  • Fire Fighting
  • Emergency Management
  • Media
  • Community Groups
  • Hazardous Materials Reporting Facilities

The Columbia County L.E.P.C. currently has 17 members. A nomination and election for chairperson, vice-chairperson, secretary, treasurer and public information officer is conducted at the January meeting. The term for each position is one year.

The LEPC is the county clearinghouse for hazardous materials safety issues, record keeping, planning and training initiatives.